art is everywhere…

Sandcastles

Hello all =) Today I thought I’d post about painting (since I love it so! ) More specifically about the fluidity of painting.  I recently paid a visit White Sands in New Mexico.  While there, in-between running around and rolling down dunes, I found time to paint. . . In the sand that is!  Now you might argue that making pictures in the sand with your hands is closer to drawing than to painting.  However, I was surprised to  find that sand is quite similar to paint as a medium!  As a result I sprawled over the desert, hunched over in a contorted attempt to release frustration.  I was quite happy with the results

1) a few awesome paintings

and 2) a great new friend…sand

What are your thoughts on sand painting? What everyday things have you used for painting, or drawing, or sculpting, or anythinging? he he

3 responses

  1. your sand paintings look very interesting it’s a medium with a high influence of now and the momentariness of everything.

    January 29, 2010 at 5:07 am

  2. it looks so clean… did you bring sand back with you to create a zen garden on your desk?

    January 29, 2010 at 11:09 am

    • happytrees08

      thanks manuel! Ascenderrisesabove, why yes i did!… if finding sand in my shoes for a week afterward counts ha ha

      January 30, 2010 at 1:26 am

Leave a Reply

