art is everywhere…

my favorite unorthodox methods

I guess most of my paintings are considered “modern” which is funny to me simply due to the fact that they’re done with traditional materials. . . u know; paint, canvas . . . the usual.  Anywho, I’ve noticed that most of the time I don’t use a brush.  In fact, I rarely do.  The other day someone asked me how I paint then. . . and I replied. . . “very unorhodox” So here’s a list of my fav unorthodox painting methods. . . in no particular order

Gravity-completely lied about the order so far cuz this is my favorite method. . . ha! Yeah in this method I rely on gravity to manipulate the paint as I drip it from great heights (remember my friend “greatness” is relative). As the paint falls it never hits exactly where I want it to. . . this provides. . . shall we say “character.” Alot of times this method actually technically ruins what I had going.  This always leads to new things though, that I would have never tried otherwise

Knives- yup totally lied cuz this is also probably also considered my favorite. . . But yes painting knives are probably the one instrument that I consistently use to physically manipulate paint.  I use them for everything; to scrape paint off for backgrounds, to tweak out of place spatters, blending, everything.  They do what I want without leaving the “footprint” that a brush would leave behind, this gives the illusion that the paint moved itself

the spatter- also up there on my list. This is a very general statement btw, “spatter.” there’s a few different types.

1) Spattering with an instrument of squeezableness. U know those cool ketchup and mustard bottles in elementary school, the yellow and red ones. . . yeah those. I buy clear ones and fill them with a mixture of paint and water. . . and bada bing bada boom, I spatter!

2) the gravitational spatter iron lung- I combine the power of gravity and great heights with the first type of spattering and then blow on the result to manipulate.

3) the hurl- in this method I stand far away and do as the name implies

These are only 3 of many methods I use so I’ll most likely update you guys with more later.  In any event, the point that I’m trying to make is, test your boundaries. Question them, test them and destroy them.  Arts classes in school drove me nuts because everything was about technique and how to do this, and how not to do that.  Art is my form of expression, how you can express without experimenting, experimenting with what works for you.   That is why I spatter, that is why my ceiling has paint speckles on it. I love to paint, so why not paint with love

4 responses

  1. LOL WOW!!!!! I do the same thing too!!!!!!!!!!! lol Except, I haven’t bought the clear bottles yet. I will eventually:D

    September 15, 2010 at 9:30 pm

  2. oh its worth it trust me 🙂

    September 15, 2010 at 9:32 pm

  3. I just read the bottom part of your post. (I was reading via email.) I agree man. I felt the same way. We were the extremely passionate people that was unnecessarily couped up in the cage of narrow art.

    September 15, 2010 at 9:33 pm

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Posts of 2010 | Shawn Mihalik — Writer, Adventurer

Leave a Reply

