art is everywhere…

I have a question

So I have a question. . . Well, more of a declaritive statement that i’d love to get some input on.
I guess I consider myself an artist…right, since I have a habit of composing what I consider to b classified as art…. So as such, I decided long ago that sketchbooks are where it’s at! Wherever I go, I usually have one, u know, 4 obvious reasons. Whenever inspiration strikes I’ll b ready! Pen in hand, paper in the other, boom!
Yeah not so much! U know right now Im on break at work right, and in my bag I have 2 moleskin notebooks. Would u believe that there is more drawn on my work folder than in my sketchbooks!!! why is this, and more importantly, why do I bother to lug around the xtra weight????!!!!!

8 responses

  1. jon

    It because you have your work folder out more than any other things. you should have the extra weight just so you will have some more stuff to draw on if you ran out of room šŸ™‚

    September 24, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    • Ha ha, I like it Jon, u know…. The day I take them out I’ll need them right lol

      September 24, 2010 at 1:20 pm

  2. Kim

    I follow your lively posts through email and don’t post here often, but this one tapped me on the shoulder a bit harder! I agree with Jon, for one thing, the other thing is sometimes we don’t value what we are drawing enough to put it in a “book”, so any old thing will do for a doodle! So you might ask yourself if you are placing enough value on your line making. Now, I don’t know about you, but with me, I find it hard to get into the zone when I am surrounded by activity. Some people are good at this, but not me, so the sketchbook stays in the bag until I can find a quiet place.

    Just a few thoughts, but I hope something resonates with you so the sketchbooks begin to fill up!

    September 24, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  3. U know…. I find ur observation very interesting…. I wonder if because I’m primarily a painter, do I subconciously put low value on what I draw in mobility? Hmmmmm I wonder filling my books would have an effect on my other work?

    September 24, 2010 at 3:06 pm

  4. Kim

    You know, I think I found your blog through Andrea in Paris. Anyway, I am a painter, too. Andrea once told me to make a mark every day. She actually asked me if I was an artist or not (she is good making me face things I want to push aside)…if I was, make a mark every day! I started doing that and now I keep a lot of different sketchbooks. One is dedicated to only sketching and writing with my non-dominant hand! At any rate, I have found it really does make a difference in my painting. I still can’t do it where a lot is going on, but I find I work in at least one each day. Remember, it is for you and you are the only one who has to see it!

    This is a great conversation!

    September 24, 2010 at 3:31 pm

  5. well said! thanks for your thoughts šŸ™‚ and I agree, at least to me art is always great for conversation

    September 24, 2010 at 11:16 pm

  6. Jimmy

    Because art is where your heart is.

    October 4, 2010 at 6:25 am

  7. well said!

    October 4, 2010 at 7:40 am

Leave a Reply

