art is everywhere…

“take a bath hippie!”

so!!!!! French people smell. At least thats what most Americans say, This stereotype has been built over time, (among otheres) in my opinion because of a fear of the unkown and the possibly that there might b a  more sophisticated culture out there than the one that exists in the place that we call home. .  .however! thats a rant for another time lol. Another reason for this stereotype is because of the prevalent rejection of anti-perspirants and deodorants in the area due to their cancerous properties!  Being aware of this for awhile I was curious of the alternatives cuz lets face it there’s no way I’m letting my underarms go solo in the climate that I live in ha ha. . . so! recently I heard about the common use of mineral salt stone! The method? u wet it, apply it just like deodorant. Its chemical-less, odorless, non-staining, instantly dries, and lasts forever!

so . . .  I went to whole foods market and asked the guy about it and he swore by it. . . telling me to personally bring it back to him for a refund if it didn’t work. Therefore! what can I say, I’m a sucker, so I bought one and am now 2 days into an experiment. Will a hunk of salt really withstand the El Paso heat, or will my family, friends, and co-workers beg me to “take a bath hippie.” So far. . . SO GOOD! On my break I walked from utep to downtown and back and although I sweated profusely ”

that ain’t gonna change” My friend with me didn’t pass out! And! I will admit to standing on a street corner, lifting up my arm to deliberately and shamelessly sniff my armpit in front of traffic. . . the result! nothing stinky! In fact, even though it may have looked funny. . . if not weird, and despite the probable embarrassment that my friend felt, it was actually a pleasant experience to my nostrils. . . . Mind u! Its too early to tell if this will in fact take conventional deodorant out of my life, therefore I will keep u updated on this experiment, as I’m sure u wouldn’t know what to do with your life if I didn’t lol

7 responses

  1. How long do you plan on extending the experiment for? I vote for a full month.

    October 12, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    • indefinitely! this is a life change shawn lol that is if it passes the test and actually works under trying circumstances with can include but are not limited to running, work, road trips, zombie attacks, etc

      October 12, 2010 at 7:25 pm

      • I like that. My 30 day vegetarian experiment was life changing as wel. I still have two days left, but when it’s over, I anticipate announcing that I’ve decided to make it a permanent change.

        October 13, 2010 at 8:07 am

      • I’ve thought about that. . . but I dunno if I could, what made u try and do it for 30 Days?

        October 13, 2010 at 6:25 pm

  2. I am so amazed by this!

    October 12, 2010 at 6:47 pm

  3. Pingback: embracing the hippie inside of us « -life as a sketch-

Leave a Reply

