art is everywhere…

go somewhere!

I was browsing bloglovin and found this photo from a flickr user which made such a powerful statement that I wholeheartedly agree with! TRAVEL!  One of my biggest pet-peeves about our society fear of travel.  I’m not sure if its a fear of language, culture, or just the unknown. . . but now that I think about it one of the most common excuses I hear for staying in one’s hometown for years at a time is “the expense.” However! there are ways around this! In fact I have found that I can live on the road on the same buck (if not less) that I would spend sitting at home!  For example, when I travel, I only eat out mayb once a day, why eat out three times a day when u can walk down the street in Paris, grab bread and cheese in the morning and be on ur way till dinner! There’s no need to spend ten euros 3 times a day! Ok so guys, help me out, what have you found helpful expense-wise when u travel?

6 responses

  1. I pack one bag that’s carry-on size–that’s it. No need for a ton of luggage. The more stuff you have, the more complicated your traveling–and your life–becomes. It’s okay to wear your clothes multiple times before you wash them, and there’s nothing wrong with purchasing things like toiletries when you arrive at your destination.

    I’ve already written about the ten things I would be happy owning, and I even included a bag to put them in. I don’t need any more than that.

    Travel lightly. Travel simply. Travel cheaply.

    That being said, I need to do some travelling soon…to El Paso.

    October 14, 2010 at 8:50 am

  2. I couldn’t agree more with ur view on luggage. Growing up when my family would travel we were allowed one backpack each. . . even then, with 6 people thats alot of bags to carry around and maneuver with in an airport or in the metro. I think that traveling lightly not only makes ur life easier but makes u more efficient! I mean how often do we wear only 20% of whats in our closet! its the same with overpacking, By bringing only what you need your overal experience is more satisfying if not more pleasant. Carrying on also saves money on ridiculous check-in fees, and saves gas when traveling by car in a group!
    and shawn! yes u do need to come to el paso!

    October 14, 2010 at 9:44 am

  3. B-rad

    Well, I think you know me, and I travel no expenses spared. That means that instead of limiting myself on vacation (and I mean who wants to show restraint in Paris or London?)I limit myself at home. I eat out once or twice a month, wait to rent a movie for a dollar instead of going to the theatre for $15, and when with friends why not share an entree or cook at home and divide the cost. Also the thing that allows me to travel the most, automatic transfers from my paycheck into my savings account. That way I don’t need to think about saving, the money is put away before I even see it or think of how I can spend it, and my budget has less to work with so I spend less.

    October 14, 2010 at 9:51 am

    • I like it! Its so true. So often the people who say travel is expensive are saying that while they eat out 5 times a week, are going to 3 concerts a month, and seeing inception for the 8th time in theaters. By cooking, using redbox, and going to free concerts at local coffee shops u can spend ur hard earned money in a life changing environment instead of throwing it away at home! Though brad, I still spend way less than u when I travel lol

      October 14, 2010 at 10:08 am

      • I dunno, I don’t think seeing Inception eight times is enough to comprehend that ending.

        October 14, 2010 at 10:26 am

  4. Lol nice

    October 14, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

