art is everywhere…

thoughts on work left unfinished

Those of you who know me well know I’m into quite a few things. . . I’ve gone through quite a few stages. . . Painting, writing, sketching, photography, blogging, biking, running, sewing, dancing, crocheting, . . . lots of stuff.

The reason being because I like alot of things. I see something, it interests me and I think hey! I could do that. . . Now it doesn’t happen out of a sense of wanting to be good at everything. . . like a competitive spirit of wanting to dominate all facets of what my brain might be capable of . . . In fact its quite the opposite cuz I know more than anybody that these projects that I start usually . . . and I say usually cuz sometimes I’m proved wrong, but usually I don’t stay on one subject long enough to do it “well.”

This is why half of my paintings are unfinished, why you can see white thread in the seams of my grey suit, and why I still don’t know Spanish.  You see, I’m culturally ADD. I have a problem. Call it ADD, call it lack of focus, call it lack of dedication, call it whatever you want. . . the fact of the matter is I start lots and lots of projects, but only finish a select few. And I love it as much as I hate it.

10 responses

  1. I believe this photo is Dario’s

    November 5, 2010 at 10:08 am

  2. It’s like da Vinci said: “Art is never finished, only abandoned.”

    November 5, 2010 at 1:13 pm

  3. andy groe

    i draw…rarely. i finish my drawings…even more rarely. something about an unfinished drawing makes me like it, in some cases, more than a finished product, especially when it’s a pencil drawing.

    November 6, 2010 at 6:06 am

    • when u’re drawing, how do you know when you are “finished” with your unfinished drawing? When do you reach a point of satisfaction with it? Cuz when I paint I do a simmilar thing but it has to reach a certain point before I’ll let it be lol

      November 6, 2010 at 6:14 am

      • andy groe

        not really sure. it depends on the piece, i suppose. it’s much easier for me to relate to finishing poetry, as i do that much more often, but the basic idea is the same. finishing a poem just kind of happens for me. i’m writing and then all of a sudden, i just know that i’m finished. there are times, of course, where i read the “finished product” and add a few lines more. however, most of the time, i just know where the end should be. it’s kind of like finding the end rather than ending the poem myself.

        November 7, 2010 at 7:16 am

      • andy groe

        wait…i just re-read your question. when do i know i’m finished with the unfinished drawing? hmmm…you know, i never really thought about that. i think i need to start drawing more.

        November 7, 2010 at 7:18 am

  4. sounds fab! And I totally agree with your previous statement about “finding the end rather than ending the poem” I think the quest to find the end of a poem or painting is one of the most mysterious processes ever. . . because no matter who I talk to, no one it seems has got it down to a science. Its a mystery that blesses us and haunts us at the same time.

    November 7, 2010 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

