art is everywhere…

some rules were made to break

I paint extremely unconventionally. . . and I feel free because of it.  Its kind of like minimalism. . . just as a sense of freedom is attained by stripping the self of possessions,  I feel that artistic “freedom” can be attained by creating whatever it is that you feel like creating, whatever way you want to create it! So here’s a list of random favorite rules to bend and break in no particular order. . .

–  Prime Just say no! I like the way watered down acrylic soaks into the texture of raw canvas.

Mrs. Prentice’s Classical Music Bjork is! appropriate for the classroom

Work Alone Collaboration can help you find your identity as an artist. Network! Blog! Connect!

Learn From The Greats There’s more inspiration on the street than in a museum

Focus daydream. . . lots

Brushes he he, so restricting

– Painting Clothes. . . nah, (my wardrobe hates me)

Hobby lobby Canvas make your own!!!! And use random scraps of clothes, its green and cheap which is also green, but in an entirely different way

Canvas In General– paint on ur walls!!!!

-photo by Dario

4 responses

  1. I think all of Mrs. Prentice’s rules were meant to be broken. I certainly broke them all the time, and she hated me for it.

    November 8, 2010 at 10:16 pm

  2. lol lol lol

    November 8, 2010 at 10:37 pm

  3. Jimmy

    Simplicity, I find, is nice. I relate to that in cooking. Many say they hate green beans, but have you tried them a different way than plain cooked?

    Or music. More is not always better. The important thing is the experience, not necessarily the complexity. Timing is important.

    If one did not experiment, one would never find new things to enjoy and would claim that this world is boring. Sometimes, though, it’s the simple things people forget to enjoy. A raindrop that falls on your cheek. A fresh cup of coffee. A sunset. Getting cozy on a comfortable couch. Sitting down and watching the world. You know, perspective. If more people had perspective, less would be so inclined to complain.

    Have a nice day.

    J

    November 9, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    • I couldn’t Agree more, when I get off work I’m gonna sit on a couch with coffee to watch the sunset 🙂

      November 9, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Leave a Reply

