art is everywhere…

soundtrack as of 11/19/10

Civil Rights March on Washington, D.C. closeup...

Image via Wikipedia

 

I’m a pretty big music junkie. I have a habit of raiding friends Itunes libraries like a lot of you do I’m sure. Isn’t it amazing how there are usually a few albums on our ipods that get played over and over and over. . . no matter how much music we steal.  I dunno, is it just me?

Here’s a few albums that I can listen to straight through for hours, without skipping a song.  My current favorite albums in order of when they popped into my head. . .

Joshua Tree– U2

O– Damien Rice

Aha Shake Heartbreak– Kings of Leon

The Bootleg Series– Bob Dylan

American Idiot– Green day

Elephant– The White Stripes

Siamese Dream– Smashing Pumpkins

Strict Joy– The Swell Season

No Name Face– Lifehouse

Our Endless Numbered Days– Iron and Wine

Bjork’s Greatest Hits– Bjork

what bout u guys?

14 responses

  1. Hey, like your list…..here is mine

    The Wall -Pink Floyd
    The Fugees – The Score
    Brand New – The Devil And God are Raging Inside Me
    Mars Volta – Amputechture
    Kings Of Leon – Aha Shake Heart Break
    Tom Waits – Rain Dogs
    Nirvana – In Utero
    Hurt – Vol 1
    Pixies – Doolittle
    A Perfect Circle – The Thirteenth Step
    Modest Mouse – The Lonesome crowded West
    Nine Inch Nails – Year Zero
    The White Stripes – Elephant
    Elliot Smith – Eliot Smith

    November 19, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    • nice list! That modest mouse album is genius, and “the score” lol makes me think of roadtrips to phx

      November 19, 2010 at 10:55 pm

  2. I have some albums… Elephant is there, Band of Skulls’s Baby Darling Dollface Honey, Chicks on speed, Peaches…. But I get this thing for songs. I can listen toa song for a million times for years: Beck’s Lost cause, Jack Pinate Pull my heart away, Kanye West’s feat. Consequence Gone, Johhny Cash’s Sunday Morning Coming Down… There is a bunch more 🙂

    November 20, 2010 at 4:42 am

  3. andy groe

    left and leaving – the weakerthans
    born to run – bruce springsteen
    the shepherd’s dog – iron & wine
    any avett brothers – the avett brothers
    ok computer – radiohead
    in rainbows – radiohead
    the bends – radiohead
    any coldplay – coldplay
    i’m wide awake, it’s morning – bright eyes
    flood – they might be giants
    give up – the postal service

    i think a favorite songs thread might not be a bad idea either…

    November 20, 2010 at 6:05 am

    • “any coldplay- coldplay” that made me lol, and its so true. U know, I think I might have to add Parachutes to my list

      November 20, 2010 at 8:28 am

  4. B-rad

    My music tastes are all over the board, but these are the ones I’m most faitful to:
    Ben Kweller- Ben Kweller
    Plans- Death Cab for Cutie
    The Crane Wife- The Decemberists
    Sounds Like This- Eric Hutchinson
    Three Flights from Alto Nito- Greg Laswell
    Happy the Man- The Guggenheim Grotto
    Be In Love- Locksley
    A Hundred Million Suns- Snow Patrol
    The Submarine- Whitley
    XX- The XX

    November 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    • I love plans, and the XX! and the Crane Wife! reminds me of pi school lol

      November 20, 2010 at 2:59 pm

  5. I’m so glad people mentioned “American Idiot”, “Doolittle”, “Plans”, “Elephant” and “Born To Run”. I’d also like to add:

    “London Calling” – The Clash
    “Achtung, Baby” – U2
    “Green” – R.E.M.
    “Contra” – Vampire Weekend
    “Brothers” – Black Keys

    November 20, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    • Jamie, i agree Contra and Brothers r genius!!!!

      November 20, 2010 at 10:24 pm

  6. Shayne

    It’s really hard to say, since my music taste differs unlike anyone I’ve ever met. But I can whip out some of my favorites.

    Thickfreakness – The Black Keys
    Corner Stones and common time – Casey & Joe
    Plastic Beach – The Gorrilaz
    Grand – Matt & Kim
    Noble Beast – Andrew Bird
    Ocean Avenue – Yellowcard
    The Hazards of Love – Decemberists
    21st Century Breakdown – Green Day

    The list could go on, but the letter keys on my computer would wear off onto my fingers. Be mindful, the list I’ve written, each album within that list has been played around 30 times through on each one. So if anyone wants to get me outta my rut, send me some music. I’m open to anything.

    November 20, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    • Hazards of love! Talk about a ropera! Fab album

      November 20, 2010 at 11:26 pm

  7. Pingback: roadtrip skills! « -life as a sketch-

Leave a Reply

