art is everywhere…

roadtrip skills!

I’m back from Denver! I love roadtrips, in fact they’re one of my favorite means of travel. With the right people they can be fun and hilarious.  Mind you sitting in a tin box for hours crammed with people can be rough.  This requires certain skills that can be mastered with time.  And so in an effort to collect such knowledge for the benefit of people everywhere,  I present a list of my personal favorite roadtripping skills. Which is funny cuz technically I don’t particularly like lists but I’ve been doing alot of them lately. . . meh who’s being technical.

sleeping in awkward positions – this skill will be your best friend when its hour 12 and you’vesurvived on nothing but chips and rockstar. It helps if you’re comfortable with the people you’re with ha ha, but if you’re not! this skill is that much more important! My current preferred position is scooched down in the seat with legs up on the window. . . aka bad posture, but hey! I’m asleep! leave posture out of this!!!

stay out of prank wars trust me on this one. . . just don’t start, or trying to sleep will be the last of your concerns.

holding it -there aren’t enough rest stops in new mexico. . .

not holding it– men, the world is your urinal (I’ve found ditches to be particularly perfect for this.

sing alongs– not only do they pass time, they burn calories. . . that is if you sing in a very animated fashion like I do. . . he he.

staying awake– this is mostly geared to the driver. . . mmhmm. . . you know the guy operating the vehicle that is actually a loaded weapon!!! this can be accomplished in many ways. . . such as coffee, energy drinks, talking, listening to music, mixing coffee with energy drinks, foot tapping, counting mile markers, practicing your spanish. . . now if you aren’t the driver your choices expand greatly because the danger of killing everybody in the vehicle go down by at least eighty percent. This opens up things like watching movies, reading, playing rockband, thumbwars, blogging, texting, or cooking on your George Foreman grill that is plugged into the powerstrip which is in turn plugged into the cigarette lighter.

spotting randomness– look kids! DEER! ! ! as a kid I could never see what dad was pointing out.  Partly because I was too short and partly because I was too . . . short. So if you’re not short, this shouldn’t be as big of a problem. If you’re of normal stature and are still having trouble I suggest practicing with friends or getting a little brother.

all things tech– from programming the gps to consulting almighty google for the closest Starbucks, techies are highly suggested for every car group.

city driving skills– you can’t stay on the highway forever, yes that includes parallel parking

stretching– this goes right along with #1

reading– I put this as a skill cuz I cannot do it without getting carsick, and I envy those that can

beware of rattlesnakes– I can’t stress this one enough!!!

Help me make this list longer, what roadtrip skills have you gathered?

9 responses

  1. Shayne

    In reply to sleeping comfortably with people who are ok with it, I’ll snuggle up with anyone who isn’t ok with it. You have been warned.

    If I were to add a skill, Toleration would definitely be one, from the itchy sweaty butt to the growing hostility between family and friends on long road trips is essential to keep natural order.

    November 30, 2010 at 9:37 pm

  2. Dang now I wanna do a road trip, and no way in hell for the next… who nows when. But I would defo ad dj-ing for the general public and tolerance for bad singing (not everyone is talented in this area and I still love a singalong). 🙂

    m

    p.s. Listen just to check with you: you know how I have forgiven you for stealing my name :-P, life as a sketch. I thought to put “life as a fashion sketch” as a tag line on my blog if this is ok with you (I mean for obviously partialy ripping you off! :-))

    December 1, 2010 at 5:43 am

    • dj-ing! how could I forget dj-ing!!!!!! and as for “life as a fashion sketch” go for it! thanks for asking tho!

      December 1, 2010 at 9:24 am

  3. andy groe

    for multicar roadtrips: walkie-talkies. cellphones just don’t do communication between traveling cars justice.

    December 1, 2010 at 6:30 am

    • he he I do love the walkie-talkie, and that is funny cuz not dilly-dallying is definatly a skill, time flies at rest stops and before u know it if u have tons of people, u’ve wasted tons of time at the vending machines

      December 1, 2010 at 9:26 am

  4. andy groe

    …proper rest stop time. it’s a rest stop, don’t dilly-dally.

    December 1, 2010 at 6:32 am

  5. Send out friendly memo to all fellow back pack buddies, “please be kind & try to abstain from any meals including large amounts of cabbage &/or beans at least 2 days before departure. merci beaucoup”

    December 1, 2010 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

