art is everywhere…

embracing the hippie inside of us

Back in October I wrote a post here about switching from conventional deodorant to a salt stone.  Though there were some that flat out laughed at me, most of my family was like hey, we’ll see what happens to him.  I think this might be due to the fact that one of us is usually in some sort of experiment like this, so its viewed as no big deal.

So after making sure that I didn’t start smelling like an alpaca, some became curious. I am now happy to declare that I’ve effectively pulled 3 out the 5 other people in my household over to the salty side!!!!! Woot for embracing the dirty hippie inside us all!!!

14 responses

  1. Angelene

    I totally had forgotten about that post! I really would like to try it actually. Thanks for the reminder! I really would like not to use deodorant.

    PS: Speaking of underarms and such, I recently tried waxing; and on my legs too. Oh my goodness. I LOVED it!!! My friend Valérie (who works in a Salon, and cut my hair, btw:D) looked at me with the weirdest look saying, “You are not normal.” in the cutest English-speaking French accent ever after informing her that I wish I had more hair to wax. bahhahaha:P It didn’t hurt AT ALL!! There is this mild sting that goes away in a split second. But you know, plucking hurts more for me. C’est bizarre, hein? lol So yeah, just thought I’d share that. I LOVE WAXING!!!!!:D

    December 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    • ha ha I’m happy for u ang, and yes plucking doesn’t look like it would feel good lols

      December 19, 2010 at 11:39 pm

      • Angelene

        haha Danx!:o)

        December 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

  2. Fun fact; I haven’t used a conventional deodorant for about 5 years. I usualy use the crystal or those Weleda and DrHauschka ones based on lemon ann/or salt. And am fine. When I say this to people they usualy look at me like am a barbarian, but I just can’t believe people still use deodorants even though it’s a known fact they are bad for you. Just remember how smoking used to be!
    anyways good for you for switching!:-) (and for the girl above for waxing :-))

    December 20, 2010 at 10:26 am

    • ha ha, amen!

      December 20, 2010 at 10:40 am

    • Angelene

      hehe Thanks!;)

      December 20, 2010 at 11:18 am

  3. Hmm. This isn’t about deodorant, but it seems fitting anyway, so I’ll share: I haven’t washed my hair in about seven months. Instead, I just scrub my scalp vigorously for a minute or so when I shower and let the natural oils do their thing. My dandruff has completely gone away. I’ve had several different hair-lengths during this time, too.

    It just goes to show that there’s no need to put chemicals on or into our bodies when natural options work just as weel or better.

    December 21, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    • Angelene

      Good for you Shawn! That is the way to go. I wish I could do that though but I can’t because I have long hair. What I do actually is shampoo and condition one day, and then two days after if my hair is still pretty clean, I wash it with just water. Then my hair gets all nice and soft because of the natural oils. But again, depending on the day, sometimes it gets too oily that I must shampoo and condition it again. I don’t know why I told you that. But it’s cool you are able to do so!:D

      December 21, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  4. way to go shawn, I haven’t used shampoo in years, It just strips ur hair of all its oil. For those with oily hair I read somewhere to use some kindof a baking soda concoction for chemicallessness. But yeah, especially if u have curly hair, don’t use shampoo. I just condition at most twice a week

    December 22, 2010 at 12:09 am

    • Angelene

      Hmmm… I will check it out – danx!!:D I didn’t even know that eh? I will look it up!

      December 22, 2010 at 7:51 am

  5. This all sound so great, but I would feel a hypocrite not using chemicals to wash my hair and than using bleech to stay blonde (and no it is not an option to not be one! :-))!.

    M

    December 22, 2010 at 12:12 am

  6. Angelene

    Hey wow la!!!! I got off the shower not too long ago.. lol Yes I know – I shower at a late hour:P En tous cas, I did what you did Shawn and massaged my scalp before I went in. BUT I did condition like what you did Stef. The first time I did it this week, I didn’t massage the conditioner deep enough so my hair looked a bit oilish yet it was not & super soft. But anyway, I tried again this.. morning, I guess.. massaging the conditioner better and it worked! You REALLY don’t need Shampoo – it’s crazy!!
    However, I would like to try not using conditioner. It really does make a difference if you massage your scalp before.

    I’m just worried more of the scent as in what if I don’t smell good because A) I have longer hair; and B) I’m short so my friends are forced to smell my hair, especially when some voluntarily do so.
    Hmmm. I am going to test this out. Maybe I’ll only condition when I do a stinky activity! On va voir! Thanks for the hair advice guys!:D

    lol Oh and I never imagined I would receive hair advice from men, PS. hehe:P

    December 28, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    • he he keep us updated ang!!!! and lols u should have known u’d get this kinda advice from us lols

      December 28, 2010 at 11:42 pm

Leave a Reply

