art is everywhere…

thoughts on album art

I think that album art is insanely important to music. There’s something almost nostalgic about listening to a record while brushing your thumbs over the cover, trying to figure out what made the musician choose that particular image or images.  I view it as a map to guide the listener to the emotional point of view of the composer. . . . yet as always, leaving interpretation up to the individual.  Curse downloading!!!! why’s it so convenient!!!!  Anywho, I”m in love with Damien Rice’s album art, I always have been.

3 responses

  1. i did not realize it till u posted it but damien rice’s art work is genuis.

    December 24, 2010 at 11:49 pm

  2. I SO agree with everything you said about cover art.
    I this case I like the rootless tree-one the best.
    I also checked through your blog and wanted to say that I love the way you see, feel and understand art.
    I’d be too glad if you’d visit my blog (still under construction) and possibly take part in my little project I just started there (and am still desperate to find participants for as I just entered the internet kinda..)
    Take care, Wilkin

    January 10, 2011 at 5:43 am

Leave a Reply

