art is everywhere…

people-watching is an art

People-watching is a hobby of mine that absolutely fascinates me, . . . for three main reasons. . .

  1. There are so many AMAZING people out there
  2. “AMAZING” can mean crazy
  3. “crazy” is a good thing in my book (If u’ve been reading this blog for any length of time u know that by now)

Seriously, its insanely entertaining and perfectly portable, making it ideal for travel!  Wherever you find yourself,  sitting down and observing the innumerable hordes of people that are bound to surround you can be refreshing.  While in reality you can do this in any public place, some locations are more fruitful than others.  Sooo I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite places to observe the masses of society and why. . .

Airports- multi cultural, language barriers, more opportunities to see people dressed in hiker gear (because we all know that that makes flying more comfortable), neck pillows, jet lag, people with frayed nerves

Buses/Subways/trains- I’m a fan of the pretending you didn’t make eye contact face. And the in seat boogie

-Hair Salons– People are really really funny about their hair

-Malls- one word, “segways”

-Park Benches- excellent choice to observe hilarious family interaction

-University- best results are obtained during finals and or orientation

-Walmart- preferably after 10pm . . . why? . . . why not!!!!!!

 

My conclusion??? Yes, people-watching is an art.  So its your turn, where are your favorite places to people watch (I know u guys do it) and why?! Feel free to expand on mine. Ta Ra!

 

8 responses

  1. I used to do this before, but somehow it does not not entartain me as much as it used to.
    What I liked is to sit in a cafe or a park bench with someone as kooky as I can get and imagine lives behind those people. Sometimes we would go all “real” on them and their lives would be very Fellini-exque and other times we would “figure themout” to be a Jedi. Now that was fun! 😉

    December 30, 2010 at 2:05 am

    • cafe!!! how could I forget Cafe?!!!! lols I like that about imagining their lives. I have this thing with animals or babies where I think to myself what they are saying, but its always in some random accent he he

      December 30, 2010 at 8:59 am

  2. I like watching the tourists coming off of the cruise ship dock on the island here lols… its really amusing watching them walk around… and what they wear sometimes is really something special

    December 31, 2010 at 3:33 pm

  3. andy groe

    an oldie of mine, but a goodie…

    People Watching
    4.14.2008

    I went people watching today
    as I do from time to time.
    We’re so interesting,
    the human race,
    and when I people watch
    I see somebody new every time.
    But it’s not somebody new
    in the sense you may think,
    for they are more than just a new face.
    I see new faces everyday.
    The new people I see
    are new people to watch,
    and so I watch them.
    Today I saw a new person,
    he was sitting across from me
    in a bench quite like the one I was sitting in.
    I sat on the right side of my bench
    and so did he.
    He was older than I,
    his white beard reached down below his chin.
    His thin framed glasses sat lightly on his nose
    and he adjusted them from time to time,
    usually when the wind blew.
    He carried nothing with him,
    nothing but himself,
    and a tarnished silver pocket watch,
    which he checked every time he adjusted his glasses.
    He had a brown argyle sweater,
    brown slacks,
    with brown loafers.
    He seemed to enjoy brown
    as much as he did the air.
    He took it in with long deep breaths,
    taking in each happily.
    This New man intrigued me,
    but it is impolite to stare,
    and so I watched at other things
    but I could not look away for too long.
    I watched the people rush by him,
    How could they not notice this most interesting man?
    Then the man got up and walked away,
    his hands in his pockets.
    He adjusted his glasses
    and checked his watch.
    I people watched the man
    until he wasn’t even a spec in the distance.
    But before he left,
    he had turned and smiled
    and gave a little wave.
    It wasn’t until he was gone
    that I realized,
    He was people watching me.

    January 3, 2011 at 5:32 am

    • this is awesome!!! ha ha ha I should have known! but the ending caught me off guard. Well done

      January 3, 2011 at 9:53 am

  4. meg

    theaters and museums… it is highly entertaining to watch others in intense observation of something else. The way they react to it. The slight squint, bite of the bottom lip, the scratch of the temple, the closer look…just fascinating

    January 3, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    • agreed! plus u get to watch people in relationships and people eating popcorn

      January 4, 2011 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

