art is everywhere…

sell-outs

so I have this thing about artists. . . its kinda like when musicians make it big. Let me explain. You know how you like that band thats “yours.”  Its cool, unlabeled, free, genius, and incorruptible. Lets take kings of leon for example, when they first started they were undeniably their own men. Long haired 70’s southern garage rock legends that couldn’t sell out if they tried! We loved them for that (at least everyone but America who’s still listening to Kelly Clarkson on the radio). We loved them , they were ours, and now they’ve hit the mainstream.

Why? Did  they sell out? In my opinion no, I agree with the words of a friend of mine, that like the Beatles, some people get big because they are, simply put, that good. Nevertheless they are no longer our pocket band that no one in America knows about.  Mind you, the mainstream only knows their hits. I went to their show in Pheonix.  It was ridiculous watching the 17 year old girls trying to mouth along to lyrics that they had obviously never heard before, for 90 percent of the show!!!! So I ask u, is it really selling out if what you’ve “sold” are 3 singles? When I look at bands like that on stage I don’t see money in tight pants, I see passionate musicians who happened to make it big.  I think labels like “sell out” should be applied to those that operate for fame from the start. The prefabricated crapola that we’re barraged with daily.

so!!!! With that illustration in mind, my point is that this principle guides how I perceive artists.  I believe that art is for the artist, and you only sell out when you forget that. So if you happen to make it, great! But if you’re a real artist, that person proudly standing in that gallery will be the same person anonymously pouring their heart onto canvas.

14 responses

  1. andy groe

    then i think there are the combo bands that simply are good (though possibly not as naturally good) but have sold out. insert green day. talented sell-outs.

    January 4, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    • ha ha ha u know I don’t want to agree with you, but I do. Like Green Day, I love them, and I can’t argue that yes they may have departed from what they were, but American Idiot is sooooo genius!!!!!!!! I just get mad at the people who say they’re greenday fans and don’t know a line from dookie

      January 4, 2011 at 11:23 pm

  2. This post reflects exactly how I feel. Although, I’m still not sure what to think about Lady Gaga. She’s undeniably talented, even now, but I can’t help feeling she would have been an entirely different kind of artist if she weren’t so famous.

    January 4, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    • true, hmmmm. But is lady gaga’s fame what makes her the artist she is?

      January 4, 2011 at 11:23 pm

  3. andy groe

    this post got me thinking, though, that i really don’t have that “pocket band” as you so eloquently put, and that makes me sad.

    January 5, 2011 at 5:38 am

  4. u will, and u’ll realize they were yours when everyone else starts liking them lol

    January 5, 2011 at 9:27 am

  5. Trevor

    I like your entry. Very much hitting the nail on the head with the “pocket bands” theory. One that I have always acknowledged but never heard it so aptly named.

    I actually think this concept is somewhat contrived in many cases. Just liking a band to keep them in your “pocket.” Going out of your way to like a band that no one else has heard of.

    Then, when no one is looking, rolling up the windows and singing every word of “Since You Been Gone.” NOT implying that is you BTW.

    January 5, 2011 at 10:34 am

    • god I hate that song lols

      January 5, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    • Insert my thoughts here….
      I agree with most that has been written here, and I agree with most but this comment totally reminded me of this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9MvUdR6j3w clip.
      I don’t know, I totally have a grudge against most main stream bands and the huge run of auto tune for those who might not even need it, and seemingly complete lack of talent these days in the popular music world. I don’t usually listen to the radio for that reason. But I don’t know if its the constant bombardment of crap or what, but there always seems to be that song that eventually all the words get stuck in your head and then you find yourself guiltily singing along when you hear it. You know, we all have them, those guilty pleasure songs? Anyways thats just what popped into my head that I thought I would share.

      January 5, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      • I lol’d when I watched that, its true. . . . I’m totally gonna do a post about guilty pleasures now ha ha ha

        January 5, 2011 at 3:13 pm

  6. well in a way it’s the old l’art pour l’art discussion. Comercial success, as everything in the end, has two sides to it. ON one if someone is great they deserve the recognition, but on the other hand recognition carries many pitfalls ie. Green day. But on the other hand being unseccessifull does as well. I think we should be just greatful for the artist whose evoulion takes them to a better place (sooner or later). 🙂

    M

    January 5, 2011 at 12:16 pm

  7. Just to let you know I tagged you in a post. No worries if you’re not into playing primary school again. 🙂

    M

    January 14, 2011 at 10:49 am

Leave a Reply

